Hall of Fame

August 16, 2021, SNELLVILLE, GA – The African-American Credit Union Coalition (AACUC) inducted four credit union leaders into its Hall of Fame at the AACUC 2021 Virtual Annual Conference on Monday, August 16, 2021.  The 2021 honorees are: Pier Alsup, Dawn White Brewer, Dan McCue, and William "Bill" Porter.

Pier Yvette Alsup is the Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Officer for Together Credit Union (formally, Anheuser-Busch Employees’ Credit Union). In March 2021, Pier celebrated her 31st anniversary with the Credit Union. As Chief DEI Officer, Pier leads the Credit Union’s commitment to an equitable, inclusive work environment where diversity is celebrated, valued, and enriches personal and organizational growth.

Dawn Brewer says that service is woven into her DNA. For her, that means making a positive difference in whatever she does. She has been in financial services for 30+ years. She is an avid volunteer for multiple organizations and churches. She began her career with a small community bank in Burlington, NJ, and went on to work for other financial institutions before relocating to Atlanta and starting a 21-year career at Coca-Cola Credit Union. Dawn began as a teller, worked in various departments and rose to VP of Marketing consistently winning awards and accolades before retiring in 2017. 

Brooks is the Chairman of St. Louis Community Credit Union (SLCCU).  Under his leadership, SLCCU and Carrollton Bank began a collaborative agreement to increase lending, provide greater access to affordable services and expand financial education to the local underserved and LMI population. Brooks has also served as Chairman of the African Heritage Association of St. Louis.

Dan McCue has 44 years of business experience, with 34 years in the credit union industry.  Dan joined Alaska USA Federal Credit Union in 2009.  As a Senior Vice President of Corporate Relations, he oversees government and public relations, community involvement and engagement, financial education programs and Executive Director of the Alaska USA Foundation.  He achieved his Credit Union Development Education (CUDE) program designation in September 2019.

William “Bill” Porter joined Municipal Credit Union (MCU) in 1981 when the New York State Banking Department hired him to revitalize what was then an organization on the brink of extinction. Upon his retirement in 2007, MCU had 14 branches, over 500 employees serving 300,000 members, an extensive network of ATMs and $1.3 billion in assets.  


About the African American Credit Union Hall of Fame History
On October 16, 2008, the AACUC unveiled an exhibit featuring African Americans in the credit union movement the first 100 years at the America’s Credit Union Museum in Manchester, N.H.  Continuing with that effort, the Funding Development Committee created the African American Credit Union Hall of Fame.  This virtual hall of fame was created to accomplish two goals: One, to honor and recognize African Americans who have and are contributing to the credit union movement--many who are unsung heroes and trailblazers.  To be inducted you must have accomplished or achieved the following:  1) provided in excess of 10 years of service in the credit union industry; 2) worked to provide financial services for people in general; and 3) identify at least four significant accomplishments, which benefited African-Americans’ access to financial capital.

The second goal was to be a consistent source of income for the AACUC through sponsorship opportunities on the website.  For instance, there are two trailblazer submissions available included with membership with the AACUC at the organizational level.  Additional trailblazer submissions are $250.  It is a great way to recognize your African-American peers, co-workers and colleagues who have made contributions locally. Hall of Fame inductees typically are sponsored by the credit union or a vendor that the inductee worked with for $1,500.